MS Office 2010 training – Marketing the Unmarketable?

26 Apr

At the moment I am surrounded by graphic design books, magazine advertisements, and multiple drafts of posters depicting amateur athletes leaping over hurdles.

Why? Well, recently a coworker was tasked with creating marketing material for upcoming classes on “What’s New in MS Office 2010.” Inspiring employees to sign up for these classes will be no small feat. In fact, because of the lack of enthusiasm around Microsoft products generally, I believe this task will be like trying to market the unmarketable.

Ok, that may be pushing it too far, but without doubt marketing these classes will be a hard job. It requires creativity, originality, and someone with the ability to turn the head of the most jaded employee. Thankfully we are buzzing with ideas – such as amateur athletes leaping over hurdles!

In future posts I will upload some of our marketing ideas. In the meantime, if you have any suggestions on images, inspiring phrases, catchwords or slogans that have successfully marketed the unmarketable, please leave a comment.

2 Responses to “MS Office 2010 training – Marketing the Unmarketable?”

  1. Michelle Childs May 20, 2012 at 3:02 am #

    I ran some “What’s new in Office 2007” classes in my last employment, and will soon be developing and facilitating “What’s new in Office 2010” training in my current employment. Maybe I’m a geek (I think I am!) but to me the transition from 2003 to 2010 is very exciting, and I communicate this in my marketing and training. Firstly, the user interface is very different, and users will go potty without some guidance, and secondly there’s so many new and exciting features! Of course some users who more competent will not necessarily need to attend a course – a quick video or Quick Reference Guide will keep them happy.

    I’m not sure if this is helpful or not, but that two cents worth!

    • mannis2 May 22, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

      Thanks for your insight.
      The changes to the interface will hopefully spark interest and I’ve found the new features excellent.

Leave a Reply

