Subject Matter Experts and Learning – differentiating the two

3 Mar

In my previous job, two questions were always first and foremost in my mind when creating content for learning – How do I get the most out  of my SME? How do I turn the content that my SME provides into learning?

These two questions reflect the importance in differentiating between a SME and the process of learning.  The two are different. While a SME may help in suggesting how the subject should be best taught, it is down to you as an instructional designer to determine how the content should be taught. 

This mantra continues to inform how I work with SMEs. Their input is invaluable. However, my job is to turn this input into priceless learning. This means closely working with SMEs to get accurate information, but also producing something more than a lecture on the subject.

Leave a Reply

