File Management Training – Problems and Pitfalls

25 Jan

Recently I was asked to investigate what format would be best for training staff on the issue of file management. The folder structure at FH is quite complex and security heavy, so I needed to design something that could explain the complexities and rules but not be overwhelming.

Initially I turned to video.  I could use the screenshots of the folder structures and have text to explain the intricacies. However, I had a problem with this approach. After reviewing the video I felt that the learner would still be overwhelmed – too much information to absorb in such a short video. So I amended the video, removing the text and replacing it with a voiceover. In turn, I tried to visually represent the folder structures per an organizational chart, complimenting the screenshots with a more simplistic view of the complex structures.

I think the amended approach is a vast improvement on the initial idea, however,  after the dust has settled on creating a video perhaps a quick reference guide would be a better option.

Now, how would that look?

Leave a Reply

